Wiki Modifier 25 Use

CFINDLING

Contributor
Best answers
I work in our software system administration, I am not a daily coder, nor am I a biller...I have recently been brought into discussions about ways to make the billing process easier in our software system but I am concerned with what I am being told by the billing staff...they are telling me that they have created these 'standard practices' of their own to add a modifier 25 to any office visit when specific codes like UAs-81003, Injections-J Codes and Admin codes are on an encounter for specific payers. And in some cases, with some payers they are adding a modifier 25 to the office visit when any other service at all is on that encounter. When I asked about this practice, they tell me "It is the payer's policy" that they will only pay when the modifier 25 is attached, but when I have asked other health centers, I am told that they don't have these issues with these particular payers in most cases. There are a few exceptions. I have brought this concern up to the staff in the billing office and their managers, but it does not appear that anything has changed, they still stand by their "payer policy". Anybody else experience these kinds of denials/issues due to payer policy?

I haven't experienced denials necessarily, but that would definitely add to the admin. burden as usually modifier 25 triggers needing the medical records for a lot of payers. Some pend claims for sure waiting on medical records, also depending on what the the UA or injection is for, I would think they would have a hard time justifying a separate procedure, I would ask them where the payer's policy is located.

You need to take this to your compliance department and/or higher if this is really what is happening, and the staff/managers of that department will not listen to your concerns.
This has red flags all over it. Like, alert, alert, alert sirens.