Wiki Working from home?

Lynda Wetter

True Blue
Local Chapter Officer
Best answers
Is it possible to make a real living working contract jobs from home? Or does anyone feel the risk of being un-employed s too high?

working from home

You can make a good living working at home; but its not for everyone. You have to be able to manage your time extremely well and avoid intrusions while working. I have been doing it for 6 years and love it.

You can make a good living working at home; but its not for everyone. You have to be able to manage your time extremely well and avoid intrusions while working. I have been doing it for 6 years and love it.

What do you do for health insurance if you dont mind me asking. Is it through an employer (a work form home based) , or spouse? That is a huge reservation for me. I carry the benfits for the family.

I've worked from home for about 3 1/2 years now. I don't work as a contractor, I have an employer. It took a little time to get used to being focused all the time, but I really enjoy it. The one thing I miss is talking to other people in an office.

It takes awhile to find the right position. When I first started out, I only worked at home on the evenings and weekends, kept my FT day job. It took awhile to find a company that was a good fit and that had long term work. I left my day job in Feb of this year and it has been great. But I have been with my current employer for 2 years and I haven't had down time.

I currently have insurance through my partner, but my employer does offer it as well.

Cordelia, CCS, CPC