Wiki what is the level of exam? HELP!!

CodingMari

Networker
Best answers
could someone shed some light I am a new coder. I think I need a profound course in E/M

example:

VS: 135PD Height: 61in Temperature 98.90 respiratory rate: 96% o2 saturation: 2532 blood pressure: 138/84

chronic diags:
anxiety disorder
COPD
chronic neck pain
Dvt of leg

Subjective
patient needs meds refills

ROS looks to me like it was copy pasted

objective:
GENERAL: alert patient in no acute distress
SKIN: normal no abnormal erythema or lesion noted
HEAD: normocephalic, no signs of trauma
EYES: peerl pupil mid sized, eoms are intact, fundi are benign
EARS: canal are clear, tympanic, membranes are normal
NOSE: septum is intact and midline
THROAT: pharynx is clear. no masses noted
NECK: supple, thyroid not palpable, carotids 2+ bilatelally and equal no bruits were noted
HEART: RRR S1 S2 are present no heaves rubs or murmurs are heard pmi is the 5th intercostal space, mid clavicular line
CHEST: clear to percussion and some rhoinci on auscultation bilaterally
abdomen: soft non tender without guarding masses rebound or organomegaly bowel sounds are normal.EX
EXT: are intact and show no signs of trauma pulses: brachial, radial, femoral, dorsalis, pedis and posterior tibial are 2+bilaterally and equal. no clubbing is noted. capillary refills is within normal limits
mental status patient is alert and oriented x3 effect is WNL.

assessment
anxiety stable, copd, nicotine dependence

plan:
refill medication
review life style changes
recheck apt

I am wondering how many bullets I have for the exam? and how many in the HPI?

I audit E/M records and this claim would be denied. The CC is not documented. Refill on a RX is not necessarily warranting an actual E/M service. A full ROS is not pertinent to the patient's presenting problems.

I get somewhat confuse with the whole ROS and Exam