Wiki Well visit Dx codes

Best answers
I am a newly certified coder but have been coding ED for about 2yrs. Recently I started a new job at a billing company and one of their main(biggest) accounts is with pediatrics. My question is regarding well baby visits. If the baby(5 day old new pt. and a 1month old est.pt.) is just brought in for a weight check only, what is the appropriate dx code? The 5 day old new patient was coded 99202 and just said weight check so, I would think it's V20.2. But, the est.pt. was coded a 99214 and just said weight check. Instead of a well visit I want to use V67.9(follow up). Since most insurance companies only cover 1 well visit per year. But, a follow up to what? Is there a primary code I can use in addition with the Vcode? Or should I request notes to see if these weight checks have anything to do with low birth weight,malnutrition etc.?

I would appreciate all that can help!!!

Erica Barden, CPC NY

Last edited:
Just a comment on the one well visit per year - when I worked for insurance companies, that applied to older children and adults, but up to age 2 we covered more well visits per year, based on the policy (different employers could purchase different wellness benefits). So, I would check with the insurance company about how many well visits are covered for infants and children, as each one is different.

There is a further breakdown on well child diagnosis codes based on age:

V20.31 Under 8 days old
V20.32 8 to 28 days old
V20.2 Over 28 days old
V70.0 Young Adult 18+

V20.32 is also noted to include a Newborn Weight Check

If the pt comes in for an IMZ and sees the MD, but ONLY receives the IMZ, do you code it as a preventative medicine code with the IMZ or is it coded as the IMZ and administration code?

What if the patient comes in for a well visit and it hasn't been a year. Does the IMZ schedule of 2-3 months for a newborn/baby remain the schedule for the preventative medicine visits for the same child?