Wiki Uneasy feeling

diann

Networker
Best answers
I need some advice. I just started at a new office in Florida. I am supposed to become one of the billers once the existing employee leaves--bad situation from what I gather--and once the office changes to EMR and leaves current billing company (which current biller is being paid under). Here is the thing...I have been there almost 2 weeks and have noticed 1)injections done by nurses are being billed under 99212 2)almost every patient is being billed for 99214/99215 3)visits being billed are i.e. 99214 plus a wellness visit 4)there is patient information being thrown in the trash even though there is 2 shred boxes. I went to the doctor who hired me about my concerns and was told basically I didn't know anything (granted my background is mainly rural health and CAH) that the billing was ok because the billing company says its right and that they have always billed this way. On the patient info, they are supposed to be getting more shred boxes but nothing was said to any of the employees about not throwing the patient papers away. I do not feel comfortable with any of this! So far I have not done any billing other than checking charges are in. I know I should quit and maybe that is answering my own question...I like most of the people there and hate to see anything happen...but I also know that I will be run out of town since everyone loves these doctors and they are really nice people!