Wiki Trigger point injections - billing software

mm0105

Best answers
Hello! I'm totally new to Pain Management billing and have a questions about Trigger Point injections. Not sure if this is a rule that needs to be changed with our billing software or if it is infact correct.

I'm billing CPT code 20552 and the patient has Medicare primary and PA Medicaid secondary. The dx code is 719.41. It will not drop to insurance, stating that Medicare does not support that dx code. I checked on Encoder Pro and it shows that it does. Is it truly not covered or should I have the rule checked into with the software company?

Thanks for any input!

Trigger point injections

Talk to your physicians because medicare allows diag;729.1 as only diagnosis for trigger points. Ck medicares lcd centers for all of the pain mangmnt codes. I've been coding pain mangmnt for last 2-years and we use medicare's lcd's almost as bible.

726.19 might also be on your LCD which refers to shoulder region. Need to give the physician a copy of the LCD from your local Medicare carrier if they do this procedure often so they understand the criteria and diagnoses that they have designated as meeting medical necessity for the procedure.
On your Encoder in the tool bar does it have a tab called LCD if not might have to get the more expensive verison if you want to access this from their program.

Talk to your physicians because medicare allows diag;729.1 as only diagnosis for trigger points. Ck medicares lcd centers for all of the pain mangmnt codes. I've been coding pain mangmnt for last 2-years and we use medicare's lcd's almost as bible.