Wiki to rhit or not ?

LaceyCanon

Networker
Best answers
Hello, all

I am new to all this and am having a hard time trying to find direction, Any advise would be appreciated! For my experience.... i have worked at the same doctors office for almost four years now, doing reception, entering charges and dx codes that the doctor has chosen,but i make sure they're correct,make sure they link to diagnostic tests and query him about whether one should be changed or not. Now I'm taking aapc's cpc course. I'm hoping my boss will give me the letter so i don't have to get the "apprenticeship" not quite sure how to bring that up... there are very few coding jobs in my town, but a lot in the next town, an hour away, i just don't want to commute again, it was terrible. Here's my problem: most jobs i see say "rhit, rhia, or ccs " and they say "associates degree preferred " i have the opportunity to go back to school and get rhit, But i wonder if what i have is enough to get a job now( and with my cpc or cpca,.) I had thought i would get cpc, then start studying hard to get the ccs.
And will it hurt my resume if i haven't worked in a year & 1/2 to get the rhit ?
Please, I'll take any advice.

Hello, all