Wiki Time to bow out

bettinadodd

Best answers
After four years of certification and attempts to break into this field, I have decided that I have no more resources with which to continue my efforts. As a long-time registered nurse, I was enthusiastic about making a career change that might lead to home-based employment and an opportunity to earn income should I become unable to perform nursing work any more and need income that would not require me to drive to and from an office or hospital on a daily basis. I enjoyed the classes I took, passed the exam without difficulty, and had high hopes that my new career was just around the corner. I have no regrets for having made that effort as I had a great deal of hope and excitement as I anticipated becoming a coder, which gave me strength during a time that I was having a lot of misgivings about continuing with nursing. I believe I would have made a very good coder. However, it is apparent that coding is not a field that most applicants can simply enter on the ground floor with certification. One must find some side door - as a receptionist, unit clerk, billing assistant, or such - and work towards a coding position. I did not have to do this in nursing, and at my age and after 35 years as an RN, it is simply not reasonable for me to continue this pursuit. I would not expect to be hired for any of those positions even if I applied, not withstanding the fact that the pay would be about half of what I currently earn. Central Virginia is not one of the areas needing more coders, and I am neither willing nor able to relocate in pursuit of a position in one of the more lucrative areas. I have no way to prepare for ICD-10 other than to attend expensive conferences and purchase materials that I will have no opportunity to use and which will be outdated in a year. Having never worked as a coder I have likely forgotten a great deal of what I learned, and without any opportunity to apply re-training, any information I review wil