Wiki Telehealth visit

hanihosni

Contributor
Best answers
Hello,

If a telehealth visit is converted to an audio-only visit due to technical difficulties with the video component, can it still be billed as a phone visit even though the patient didn't initiate it ?

hello, i am not an expert but here are my thoughts:
1. if the majority of the e/m service was done by video, i code as video per our team instructions.
2. if tele visit failed at the beginning, i am assuming MD communicates with pt that 'let's do it via phone", then Md should've documented that pt agreed via phone and then i would code it as phone e/m. I think in your case , md just needs to document that statement that he forgot.
3. MD must also document the time in minutes spent on the service. 99441-99443

I just found an example: ""I performed this evaluation using real-time telehealth tools, including a live video Zoom connection between my location and the patient's location. Prior to initiating, the patient consented to perform this evaluation using telehealth tools.

Failed Integrated Video Connection:
Due to failed integrated video connection, I obtained consent from the patient to conduct a non-integrated video visit." + Time statement.

Last edited:
hello, i am not an expert but here are my thoughts:
1. if the majority of the e/m service was done by video, i code as video per our team instructions.
2. if tele visit failed at the beginning, i am assuming MD communicates with pt that 'let's do it via phone", then Md should've documented that pt agreed via phone and then i would code it as phone e/m. I think in your case , md just needs to document that statement that he forgot.
3. MD must also document the time in minutes spent on the service. 99441-99443