Wiki Tdap shot for Medicare

henimercer

Best answers
Hello,

I work as a coder/biller for an Internal Medicine practice.
When I bill Medicare for Tdap I get paid for the administration and I get a denial that the patient's is not covered for the drug. Per the EOB the patient is responsible but as I am reading an article we should use the GA modifier to let Medicare know that we got a signed ABN and then bill the patient?

I have never used this modifier before and I just want to know if should...
(We do get the ABN's from the patients.)

If I need to should it look like this:

exp:
99213-25 (401.1)
90471 (V06.1)
90718 - GA (V06.1)

Thank you for the help,

Use the -GX modifier. That tells Medicare that you voluntarily obtained an ABN for a service that you know will be categorically denied (such as certain preventive services, which this is). Here's the MLM article: http://www.cms.gov/mlnmattersarticles/downloads/MM6563.pdf

The GA is used when you are required to obtain an ABN for services that may be non-covered. Since the Td (as a prophylactic injection) is never covered by CMS, an ABN is not required. Confusing stuff.

I've never put a -25 on an OV with an injection, but maybe your local carrier wants it? In this case, since the injections are categorically non covered, I don't see why you'd need it. The -GX is to be appended to all services that are patient liability when an ABN has been obtained, so I'd append it to both the 90471 and the 90718.

Hello Pam,

Thank you so much for responding. Usually I just read the threads and then I figure things out for myself.
I just read this article yesterday and I wanted some clarification on it as I have never used the GA or the new GX modifiers before.

When I started working here over a year ago straight out of school (CPC) I was blessed enough to get this position and so lucky to start coding immediately. I was kind of taking over and followed the footsteps of what and how things were done here.