Wiki Symptoms, Documentation, and Screen Colonoscopy

jmaciulis

Contributor
Best answers
Hello. I am a newly certified coder who was recently hired at a gastroenterology office. I am looking for advice regarding screen colonoscopy, documentation, and symptoms.

I know we can not code a screening if the patient is evaluated for symptoms. The problem I am running into is that the patient is seen in our office by the NP for something like epigastric pain and she orders an EGD for symptoms and a screen colonoscopy since they are of age and overdue. Both procedures are done at the same time by the physician. The pre-op dx is 789.06 and V76.51. The NP stated in her encounter note that the EGD is for the epigastric pain and the colonoscopy is a screen. Is this proper documentation or will this trigger as being a dx colonoscopy for symptoms?

Example:

Patient is referred for consultation to evaluate 1 - 2 year history epigastric pain, diarrhea, recently worsening symptoms. Mid abdominal pain, worse in the early morning, also heartburn. Also "runny" stools 3 - 4 times.day with urgency. Occasionally dark color. No bright red blood. Has taken pepto bisomol occasionally for diarrhea. Dietary intake is somewhat irregular. Denies dysphagia, odynophagia, nausea, emesis, hematemesis, chills, fever, hematochezia.

Assessment:

50 yo male with GERD, epigastric pain, diarrhea; due for age-related screen
Plan:

EGD scheduled - r/o PUD, h. Pylori, other UGI pathology
Colonoscopy scheduled

I also am wondering what to do when a patient states they have a symptom like (obviously colon related) diarrhea. The provider will add that to the dx, but document that they are ordering a colonoscopy only as a screen and not to evaluate for the diarrhea. Will this stand up? The pre-op dx only lists V76.51, but I am concerned about the EM visit before the procedure.