Wiki Surgical Pathology 88331+88304?

vitaleung

Best answers
Hello, I am a student of CPC. I have a problem on the following question, hope somebody else can help to solve my problem since my examination date is on next week. Many thanks!

Question:
During a craniectomy the surgeon performed a frozen section of a large piece of tumor and sent it to pathology. The pathologist received a rubbery pinkish tan tissue measuring in aggregate 3 x 0.8 x 0.8 cm. The entire specimen is submitted in one block and a microscope was used to examine the tissue. The frozen section and the pathology report are sent back to the surgeon indicating that the tumor was a medulloblastoma. What CPT? code(s) will the pathologist report?
A. 80500
B. 88331-26
C. 80502
D. 88331-26, 88304-26

The official answer is B.

Answer key:
Since the pathology consultation of the tumor is performed during a surgery you are guided to code 88331. Codes 80500 and 80502 are reported according to CPT? guidelines when the pathologist gives a response to a request from an attending physician in relation to a test result(s) requiring additional medical interpretive judgment. The pathologist did not perform the final report of the tumor, eliminating multiple choice answer D. Modifier 26 reports the professional service.

My question is..
According to their answer key, "the pathologist did not perform the final report of the tumor" so the code 88304 will not be assigned. However, in view of the description from the question statement, " The frozen section and the pathology report are sent back to the surgeon indicating that the tumor was a medulloblastoma" the pathologist did provide a pathology report. I wonder if this statement can be considered the reporting of the tumor, which the code 880304 is involved and should be assigned.

Also, is the pathology report different from the "final report"?

And is medulloblastoma under the type of neuroma?