Wiki Starting Salary for brand-new Coders

JRush05

Best answers
Hello!

I just completed my CPC-A certification this month - I've updated my resume and I'm ready to start job-shopping with more confidence than before! :)
But, I need help: I'm stuck on what salary/hourly pay I could/should ask for when I start getting interviews!

By the way, I'm brand new to the medical field - I come from an administrative/customer service/call-center background and my last hourly pay was within the $10-13 pay range.

I've read statistics online about starting pay in Medical coding being being $16-24....would it be wise to ask for the minimum of $16 (for full-time or part-time work)? Or should I be more flexible than that? OR should I be more ambitious and ask for more?
Also, what pay range did you yourself ask for? (if you feel comfortable giving that)

Thank you for your help!

P.S., I understand that I may have to get a non-coding job in order to get my foot in the door, and I'm open to doing that as well!

I asked my coding instructor the same question. He felt that for the area I am in - Southeastern Massachusetts- the starting pay for coders with zero experience is 15 - 20 dollars an hour. I did not attempt to negotiate pay with my first job because their offer was closer to the high end of that range. I did not feel it was appropriate to negotiate salary with the limited experience I had.

I was paid $18/hour for my first coding job, however, I had six years of experience in the medical field before moving into coding. Because you're brand new to the field and the job itself, I personally think that $16/hour is fair. You don't want to sell yourself short so I would evaluate yourself as a whole (education, experience, professional accolades) and make sure that you put your best foot forward to get what you deserve. Good luck!