Wiki Starting a coding business

mmhubb

Contributor
Best answers
Hello!
I am very interested in starting my own coding business at home, and would greatly appreciate any advice that you all may have.
I have an associates degree in health information technology and have been a CPC since 2007. I've been working at my current job at a billing office for the past 5 years and would like very much to become my own boss. Unfortunately, I am not able to do as much coding as I would like at my current position; meaning that as a biller for this company, I am only the clean up lady. I correct all coding mistakes made on claims that have denied.
So, I've said all of this to ask: Will I need more coding experience before I try to start my own business or should I just enhance my credentials by sitting for other specialized certifications? I'm just not sure where to start... any advice would help.

Thanks!

Have you considered contacting other offices (providers, billing services) to see if they might be in need of additional help--perhaps something that will allow you to start working from home a few hours a week? I have my own billing/coding business and work from home. However, I also do work for a separate billing service and help to code out ER charts (1-2 days/week). That would allow you to do more coding and at the same time start working independently. If there is a specialty area that interests you, perhaps connect with an individual who codes in that arena and perhaps they can give you some feedback on how to get your foot in the door or help with you understanding how to code for that specialty. Is there a local school in your area that perhaps you might consider teaching a coding class? This would help to get your name out there.