Wiki Rotator Cuff Repair?

talitha82

Best answers
I am fairly new to shoulder coding, and need an outside opinion on the case below. The doctor thinks he did 29828, 29826, and 29822.

PREOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS: Impingement syndrome, rotator cuff tear, left shoulder.

POSTOPERATIVE DIAGNOSES: Intraarticular synovitis, impingement syndrome, large rotator cuff tear, left shoulder.

PROCEDURES PERFORMED: Left shoulder arthroscopy, limited intraarticular debridement, subacromial decompression, and repair of a tongue type supraspinatus tear using two side-to-side sutures and two 4.5 HEALIX BR anchors.

INDICATIONS: Please see my dictated history and physical and clinic notes. There has been no change. Review of systems is negative. Risks, benefits, options, prolonged rehabilitation, closure discussed at length. The patient and her husband elected to proceed.

PROCEDURE: The patient was brought to the operating room and placed on the operating table in supine position. After induction of adequate general anesthesia, 1 g of Ancef was given. The patient was carefully placed in the beach chair position with all pressure points padded and the left shoulder was prepped and draped in a sterile manner.

Diagnostic arthroscopy was performed of the left glenohumeral joint. The findings were as follows:
1. Glenohumeral surfaces were normal.
2. Inferior recess and posterior bare areas normal.
3. Anterior capsuloligamentous complex and subscapularis were normal.
4. The biceps tendon was completely normal.
5. The posterior capsuloligamentous complex was normal.
6. There was some synovitis in the anterior and superior aspect of the shoulder.
7. There was a very large retracted rotator cuff tear.

Based on these findings, I debrided the synovitis in the shoulder and removed the arthroscope and placed it in the subacromial space. Likewise, there was a fairly significant amount of bursitis which is debrided.