Wiki ROS

No, not for established patients. ROS is one of three components of the history.
For new patients, you must document all 3 components of history; for established patients, 2 of 3.
History components:
  • History of present illness
  • Review of systems
  • Past medical, family & social history

I do not see anything that states it can be skipped entirely (an old one can be used if referenced by date), but I am still new at this. Here are some links, and I can refer back to course material this weekend:

" ● You may list the CC, ROS, and PFSH as separate elements of history or you may include them in the description of the HPI. ● You do not need to re-record a ROS and/or a PFSH obtained during an earlier encounter if there is evidence that the physician reviewed and updated the previous information. This may occur when a physician updates his or her own record or in an institutional setting or group practice where many physicians use a common record. You may document the review and update by: • Describing any new ROS and/or PFSH information or noting there is no change in the information. • Noting the date and location of the earlier ROS and/or PFSH. ● Ancillary staff may record the HPI, ROS and/or PFSH. Alternatively, the patient may complete a form to provide the ROS and/or PFSH. You must provide a notation supplementing or confirming the information recorded by others to document that the physician reviewed the information. ● If the physician is unable to obtain a history from the patient or other source, the record should describe the patient’s condition or other circumstance which precludes obtaining a history "