Wiki Ros in hpi???

jifnif

Expert
Best answers
i have a report that the dr is stating in the ROS that "10 system review negative except what is noted in HPI' and the only thing noted in HPI is basically history. Is this allowed to be counted as ROS? I want to say no but would love to have another opinion. Thank you. :)

More!?

I am new to this type of coding but it seems the norm for our hospitalists to state in ROS that it is negative except for what is mentioned in HPI. Please, if someone knows if this is allowable let me know. Thanks.

The ROS can be taken from the HPI, you just need to be careful that you aren't "double dipping" and using the same info more than once.

I had a co-worker bring me an example of one of her hospitalists notes. There was no ROS done in the HPI but there was a comment "ROS neg except as noted above". We don't give credit for that.

Many times a good HPI will have a few really clear ROS in it so they won't need to have a separate ROS.

Currently, depending on your carrier, the all other systems reviewed and negative is acceptable as a comprehensive ROS. This is of course assuming there were some ROS listed and it is actually being done.

It would be nice if you could post the HPI in question so we could go thru it with you.

Laura, CPC, CEMC

tHANKS! I will try to retype it as acurate as possible, we don't have a copy paste option: