Wiki Raising Coding Awareness to our provider network

leannm21

Best answers
I am a medical coder at a health care plan and my project right now is to come up with a plan to raise awareness of our provider network in diagnosis coding.

I have a few questions that if you could shed some input on would help us as a health care plan relate to our provider network.

For the coders working in the provider offices:
What would be one piece of information you would like to know from a health plan?
What are a few questions you would like to ask a health plan relating to coding practice?
What outcome would you want to see if I were to come into your office to provider awareness on this ever changing and sometimes confusing world of diagnosis coding (icd-9), or any coding set?
Do you know what quality measures are?

Also, as a coder in a facility what do you think the most effective way to approach a practice would be?

I am trying to connect with our providers and turn this into a partnership and not just a 'training' session I want them to know that I am here to support them and help with their coding needs.

Any feed back would be much appreciated!

Thank you!