Wiki $$ question

umcanes4

Guru
Best answers
Hi everyone.. First off, I want to say that I am studying to take my CPC exam next month and I want to THANK everyone for posting all of their tips for studying. I really appreciate it.

When you interviewed for coding positions and they asked you what $$ are you looking for, what did you say? I'm assuming this answer will vary depending on if you have certification, experience or no experience.If I decide to leave my employer, I have no idea what to ask for hourly/salary. I have worked in the medical office setting for over 14 or 15yrs. I currently work at a Hem/Onc office where I do code chemo/radiation/scans/hosp/ov and enter all of the charges. I have been doing this for over 3yrs. Before this, I did some A/R work with cardiac cath coding.

I am not trying to talk about what people make here but just get a feel for what is acceptable to ask for and what's not. If you don't feel comfy discussing $ in the thread, you are more than welcome to private message me.

There are so many variables, like location, experience, and actual duties. I would suggest start reading the job postings anywhere you can find them. Many of them will list a starting rate or range. You can review the general area and compare to where you live.

Thanks JREDLINE. I've been checking the local hospital physician's group that has about 4 positions open but unfortunately they don't list it. :( I do attend Community College for HIM that is AHIMA oriented so I wonder if my program director would have an idea. I didn't want to go into an interview and give a figure that is too low or too high. Thanks again for the help!