Wiki Pursuing CHONC. Not sure where to start!

CoderinJax

Guru
Best answers
Hi!
I'm considering working towards obtaining the CHONC specialty certification because it would be something brand new and different. I have ZERO knowledge in the hemat/onc coding world, with the exception of everyday "general" knowledge. (Which isn't much, ha!)

I've tried "Googling" coding clinics or anything else for beginners, but the searches come back with very little help.

Anyone have any easy to understand coding books, besides the AAPC's CHONC guide? (I already have that, but need to start further back in regards to this specialty.)

Thanks so much!
Becki, CPC, CPMA

Last edited:
you are really going to need hands-on experience to learn infusion billing. There is just no getting around that. You would need to learn about the drugs, the billing hierarchy, reactions, your neoplasm table usage. Nurses are an invalualable resource.
Are you working in a clinic? Rheumatology also does infusions, not quite so many drugs for starters.
Tricia D.

Hi Tricia, thanks for the information. I actually work on the carrier side, so hands-on isn't an option. I'd love to try to find a local group that would allow me in their practice to learn, but I'm thinking my chances are pretty small for that. :( I'm not receiving pressure or anything from my employer to obtain this, more just that I want to learn about something I don't have any experience with. I haven't really attended a lot of the local AAPC meetings, and that may be a decent place to network with some Nurses, coders, etc. My Mom is an RN (Retired) so maybe I can start asking her some questions, too. Thanks so much for the input, I appreciate it!
Becki

CHONC cert advice