Wiki Psychotherapy documentation requirements

dtweedy

Networker
Best answers
I am new to coding Psychotherapy, I am on the reimbursement side. Can payers request the psychotherapy documentation for reimbursement? It is difficult to reimburse for documentation submit that looks like this for 90837." Patient had 60 minutes of individual psychotherapy"???

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Deborah., CPC

Of course the payer can request the complete chart note. If what you stated above is all you have for a chart note then as the payer you may deny the claim. Chart notes may not be created after the claim is submitted. If you request the chart note and that is what was received and then on denial you receive a different chart note, I would request the electronic time stamp of when the latest note was created.

Documentation requirements:

Type of therapy provided (individual/family w/ or without patient present/group/crisis)

Therapeutic technique used, i.e., CBT, EMDR

Content of the session; synopsis of showing that the patient's signs and symptoms, dx, was alleviated.

Total time in session.

90832 = 16-37 minutes
90834 = 38-52 minutes
90837 = 53 minutes or more

a minimum of 16 minutes has to be provided to be able to code for 90832

Documentation requirements:

Type of therapy provided (individual/family w/ or without patient present/group/crisis)

Therapeutic technique used, i.e., CBT, EMDR

Content of the session; synopsis of showing that the patient's signs and symptoms, dx, was alleviated.

Total time in session.

90832 = 16-37 minutes
90834 = 38-52 minutes
90837 = 53 minutes or more

a minimum of 16 minutes has to be provided to be able to code for 90832

Should the note document the start and stop times? Or can it just state total time in session?