Wiki Providers and unspecified codes.. please help!

Best answers
Hi all,

I am new to my current practice and have been struggling to get my Providers to be more specific with their documentation/coding. Whenever it is addressed I am met with the push back of "Why does it matter, it's not like it pays more."
Has anyone else experienced this? I would love some suggestions on how to better get my point across. Extra bonus if you can provide a link to a resource so I can prove some legitimacy to them. TIA!

Hi all,

I am new to my current practice and have been struggling to get my Providers to be more specific with their documentation/coding. Whenever it is addressed I am met with the push back of "Why does it matter, it's not like it pays more."
Has anyone else experienced this? I would love some suggestions on how to better get my point across. Extra bonus if you can provide a link to a resource so I can prove some legitimacy to them. TIA!
The entire reason for switching from ICD.9 to ICD.10 was for greater specificity. More and more payers are denying claims with unspecified diagnosis codes. Maybe showing them denials for using unspecified codes may change their minds. I think their focus needs to be corrected. This is not just about payments. Medical records become legal documents and are used for many reason other than getting paid. Other providers read them, but don't get much out of them if the documentation is not specific. There is also litigation. If your provider is ever in court and has to defend what they did and why, the provider may wish they had documented better. As times go on more claims will be denied for using unspecified codes.