Wiki Please Help - some trouble coding

Articia1

New
Best answers
Hi Fellow Coders,

I'm a new coder and I'm having some trouble coding these ortho cases if someone can please read the op report attached below and explain to me how I would code this it would really help me out alot .

After reading over the case I came up with 29881-RT only but I think that is incorrect. Again thank you in advance.

SUBJECTIVE: This pleasant 48-year-old male presents to Anytown Hospital for a scheduled right knee
diagnostic and therapeutic arthroscopy with findings consistent with medial meniscus tear, documented
PCL rupture and chondromalacia. The entire procedure including all risks and complications have been
explained and informed written consent is signed and on the chart.
PREOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS: Right knee medial meniscus tear with documented PCL rupture and
medial collateral ligament sprain.
POSTOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS:
1. Right knee chondromalacia grade II to III at the medial femoral condyle, patellofemoral
articulation and lateral femoral condyle. Multiple small loose bodies
2. Suprapatellar plica and synovitis.
3. Right PCL rupture.
PROCEDURE PERFORMED:
1. Diagnostic and therapeutic arthroscopy right knee.
2. Partial medial femoral condyle chondroplasty.
3. Chondroplasty of the patellofemoral and lateral femoral condyle right knee.
4. Loose body removal.
5. Plica removal.
6. Debridement of synovitis.
7. Examination under anesthesia.
DESCRIPTION OF PROCEDURE: Prior to transport to the operative suite in stable condition the patient
was given 1 gram of IV piggyback Kefzol and once in the operative suite general endotracheal anesthesia
was initiated by the anesthesia department. Once adequate anesthesia was obtained examination under
anesthesia is done, revealing posterior cruciate ligament laxity, positive posterior Drawer test, negative
Lachman, negative instability of the lateral lower medial collateral ligaments. At this time a nonsterile