Wiki Please help.. need input..

leren44

Best answers
I had posted this question a few days ago and got no responses. I really do need some input. I'm pretty sure I already know the answer but due to circumstances right now, my confidence is not too good. So really, any feedback I can get would be very appreciated. Sorry if this seems long winded.

Having just moved from out of state, I was shocked to find that the majority of the jobs in the area I'm in is hired through temp agencies. Right now i'm on assignment working at a ambulatory surgical center. I have 3 years of billing experience in an asc from my previous job. The surgery center i'm working with now seems to think that it is perfectly acceptable to instead of sending in itemized invoice for implants, using an invoice for a kit instead. Here is the kicker.. the actual kit does not exist within the manufacturer. They are working out an arrangement with the manufacturer to create an invoice for the "kit".
They are insistant in billing for the disposables and seem to believe that if they produce an invoice for a "kit" it will reduce the revenue lost on the disposables as the carrier is paying on an entire kit.

My quandry is this.. to bill for a kit that really doesn't exist constitutes another form of fraud in my book. I have spoken to the administrators concerning this which of course turned ugly. I fear i'm probably going to loose this job. Am I right or wrong on this? Really any feed back I can get would be really appreciated!

I agree

I agree with you. In the world of coding if it isn't documented it didn't happen, so the same should apply to coding kits that don't exist. There is a huge ethical issue with that!