Wiki Please Help---62310 vs 64479

jls4567

Contributor
Best answers
Hi there,
I had posted thi in the general discussions thread in error.
I am fairly new to Pain coding and have a physician that is questioning how the following should be coded.
"Cervical epidural steroid injection through the interlaminar route with a catheter going to the transforaminal opening of the left side of c6-C7.
Would this be a 62310 or a 64479?

Any help and back up documentation would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance.

Below describes the procedure represented by CPT 64483. I believe that if you are using a interlaminar approach (62311) it is based on the approach in this case not the final location of catheter tip is my interpretation. Maybe other forum members would view it differently.

AMA CPT Network
CPT Code: 64483

Clinical Example

A 71-year-old male with coronary artery disease and moderate heart failure presents with recurrent right leg pain, the abil-ity to stand for only 10 minutes and walk less than 1 block, and minimal problems sitting. The patient's history includes a previous laminectomy at L4-L5; a magnetic resonance imaging scan with gadolinium, showing a small recurrent herniation between L4-L5 with scar tissue; and neurodiagnostic studies compatible with an acute L5 radiculopathy. He has failed to obtain relief using various oral medication, physical therapy, and traction. He undergoes a transforaminal epidural injec-tion of an anesthetic agent and/or steroid at the L5-S1 level.

Description of Procedure