Wiki PCNL Help

Sunny0967

Contributor
Best answers
I am new to Urology field and having issues with a PCNL - Previous manager coded this report and doc thinks all PCNL's should be coded the same - Please let me know what you think? I know its' long - but your help is very much appreciated. Thanks in Advance

CPT CODES BILLED FOR THIS OP REPORT:

50081 - PCNL for stones >2.0 cm
52352 - Cystoscopy basket extraction of stones
50393 -Introduction of ureteral catheter or stent into ureter through renal pelvis for drainage and/or injection, percutaneous
52332 - Stent insertion
50394 - Injection procedure for pyelography (as nephrostogram, pyelostogram, antegrade pyeloureterograms) through nephrostomy or pyelostomy tube, or indwelling ureteral catheter

Op Report:

POSTOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS: Right staghorn calculus.
OPERATION PERFORMED: Right percutaneous nephrolithotomy, right antegrade pyelogram, right renoscopy and proximal ureteroscopy, placement of 6 x 22 right ureteral stent in an antegrade fashion, placement of 22-French Councill tip catheter and nephrostomy tube.
DRAINS: A 6 x 22 double-J ureteral stent, a 22-French Councill tip catheter, 16-French Foley catheter.
INDICATIONS FOR PROCEDURE: 65-year-old female with a history of right staghorn calculus. She became septic placement of nephroureteral stent. However, she has improved, and she presents for surgical intervention today.