Wiki Pay rate

medcode12

Networker
Best answers
After reading the 2009 Salary Survey the AAPC puts out, I am very confused as to whether or not I am getting paid what I should be. According to the survey I'm not, but I wanted to make sure that's accurate and get others opinions.

I work for a small practice of 4 physicians in New Orleans, Louisiana. My job responsibilities include coding/filing claims, billing, posting payments, verifying eligibility, following up on outstanding claims, managing all accounts, training coworkers, and EVERYTHING else that goes along with these duties. I numerously get complimented on how easy I am to work with and how prompt I am with completing my work. (I honestly don't think the "way" I work is an issue).

I have been working at this office for 5 years now, coding for 4, and I received my CPC certification 1 year ago. There is one other coworker that does everything else that I do, but is not yet certified. The other coder and I have trained 2 other coworkers on coding because we were asked to do so.

The owner paid for my school where I earned an Associate's Degree in Medical Office Management and a certification for medical coding through the schools program. He also pays for basically everything else... full insurance, month of vacation, lunch, parking, certification renewal and end of the year bonus of 2,000. Furthermore, the other girl and I are basically the only ones who knows what's even going on in the Billing/Insurance Department. My office manager has a very little knowledge of what I do. She only knows what I tell her.

I love working here and would like to stay, but am unsure if I'm making what I should be. Any ideas on what you think my pay should be? :confused:

Thanks!