Wiki Patient navigation

Best answers
Hello, I am new to the world of coding, I am almost done with schooling, so forgive me if this question doesn't make sense. A friend of mine who works at a hospital is trying to set up a patient navigation program. It's a relatively new concept, navigators would help cancer patients etc. figure out their way through the medical world. They set up treatments, appointments etc. She asked me how they would bill for this. I do not see any CPT code for this type of thing. Does anyone know how this would be coded?

This is not a billable professional-fee service. Nurse navigators are not a new concept; we've had them for years in our Cancer center and our multidisciplinary clinics. Nurse Navigation is an adjunct program designed to facilitate the multi-specialty treatment that severely and chronically ill patients receive. Besides being patient-friendly, nurse navigation helps patient sort through all their different appointments (helping to eliminate no-shows or double bookings), assists with financial aid, community services and caregiver assistance. Nurse navigators are typically employed nurses who are part of a hosptial department such as oncology, Chest Clinic, etc. Their services can be calculated into the facility fee if billing in an outpatient hospital setting, but you can't bill for their services on the 1500.

Ok thank you. Just wondering, so the codes 99487-99489 would not work for this? Also what if the navigators are not nurses? My friend is interested in starting a private patient navigator practice. Therefore, it would not be through the hospital or by a nurse. How and can that be coded??