Wiki Partial Masetctomy vs excsion-what is the guide?

finzy

Best answers
I work for a breast surgeon and a few of her cases have been down coded from 19301 to 19120 by the hospital coders, they are using the criteria that her op report does not reflect that she went to a certain dept in the Breast to excise the lesion. She does make certain that the margins are clear, and of course she does a sentinal node biopsy. I am new to coding for this particular specialty and want to make sure that we get this situation rectified as soon as we can, I will also add that she came from a large breast center and has not had this problem with the coders before. It seems to me that if the procedure is to be coded strictly based upon the dept of the excision, then why does it not say that in the CPT? I am really hoping that more seasoned coders can weigh in on this debate and help me to "state our case to the hospital coders" apparently they are using the Ingenix guidelines as a basis for the debate.

thanks in advance!

I have always understood the partial mastectomy to apply when tissue beyond what is believed to be the actual neoplasm is purposely taken in the effort to get clear margins. Also when a return for wider margins is needed after initial excision of a mass turns out to have positive margins of CA or DCIS. I don't know what is meant by a particular dept of the breast, but it doesn't sound like an appropriate basis for downcoding your claims.
Connie (CPC,CGSC)

Is ther any way you can post a note to review. It could be the way it is documented and with out a note it is hard to say. I worked on the hospital side for awhile and we rarely agreed with the physician codes on the operative codes, it was always based on the way things were stated in the note.

unfortunately I am guilty of down coding 19301 to 19120 based off of documentation...So this is what happens.