Wiki Parent Consulting on behalf of child??

puggles

Networker
Best answers
We had a mother come in the consult with the family doctor about her son's ct results. The son has downs and is 31. The doctor dictation that he spend 30 mins discussing all the results and this and that. The office visit was billed under the mother with a dx code of V65.19 and it went to Mcare, however, Mcare denied it and then it was billed to the pt. Mother is calling now, since she got the bill and stated that it should have been billed under her son, (her son was not there) Does anyone have any thoughts on this and if it was billed correctly. To me it was!
Thanks Alot!
Miranda H. :eek:

Medicare requires that E/M services include face-to-face services with the patient.

It's possible that the mother's health plan may cover the service. If not...It would be billable to her.

I'm new to coding (but not health care) and haven't touched on Medicare regulations during my schooling yet, but it would make sense (to me) that the charges are put on the son's account since he is the patient and the one who had the CT performed and all the documentation (eg: CT report, medical record notes regarding the physician discussing the results with the mother) is under the son's name as well.

Surely there are particular incidences where Medicare would pay for services that were not "face to face" with the patient, as in this incidence?

http://www.cms.hhs.gov/MLNProducts/downloads/eval_mgmt_serv_guide.pdf

Page 7-refer to the descriptions of each level (Eval and Mgmt Service Guide)

A Definition of New Patient for Selection of E/M Visit Code