Wiki Palliative Care Coding with time changes to CPT codes for 2023

jessicamarquez05

Contributor
Best answers
Hello,

I do coding for Hospice and Palliative care. With the coding changes in 2023 we seem to be missing out on quite a bit of revenue for our Dr's. This is mostly surrounding initial/follow up visits for home and hospital as they changed minimum time requirements.
For home visits: CPT code 99347 was previously a 15 min minimum and is now 20 mins. Hospital visits: 99221 was previously a 30 min minimum and is now 40 mins and 99231 was previously a 15 min minimum and is now 25 mins.

I'm new to coding for Palliative Care, I'm used to billing E/M's. Anyone on here have any insight on this? Can we only code based on time for Palliative Care and Hospice Visits? Also, I was surprised we couldn't bill for extended time for these visits. Really any info anyone has would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Jessica

Last edited:
With the change in time requirements as well as using MDM only (instead of hx, exam and MDM), yes, there will be services that were previously coded at a different level than by current coding guidelines.
Palliative care is one of the few types of specialties that historically coded many E&Ms by time. So while the time requirements are now higher, there are other changes that could benefit you. For example, you may count all time the provider spent that day on the service. Not only floor/unit time. And not require > 50% counseling/coordination of care.
Example where the current coding guidelines benefit you: