Wiki PA Billing

bethsanders

Contributor
Best answers
Hello
I am hoping that someone can give me some feed back with a situation. I am new to Orthopedics. I am going to try and explain the situation as best as I can.

The office had a PA for about a year that had asst. the Dr. in surgeries. When charges were posted the PA was listed as the Dr. and the mod-AS was attached to the CPT. Claims were denied stating out of network so therefore most were billed to the patients.

I started working here in mid August, the company outsourced a person to redo these claims. A void was done and a new claim was created. I have been getting denials that they are dup. claims or insurance companies are sending letters asking why the change.

I guess my question is: Can this be done, if so what is the correct way to handle this. I have so many patient's accounts a real mess now. And the company that our office hired to manage is not answering my questions. Could someone please help me with this. Thanks so much!

Beth Sanders, CPC

many questions here, is the practice out of network? was the physician credentialed? does the procedure performed allow for an assistant, did you use an 80 or 81 modifier?

No, the doctor is not out of network. But the PA did not have an NPI for most insurance companies. The modifier that was used was AS.

That is the whole issue too, it was not check to see if the procedure allowed an assistant.

I am trying to understand why all of this went on for a year and nothing was done. I believe the outsource person thinks that they can recoup alot of money but I dont see it happening.

"When charges were posted the PA was listed as the Dr. and the mod-AS was attached to the CPT"...