Wiki out patient coding for hospital help

dmolina42

Best answers
Hi everyone I am very new to this career and I need help :) . I am trying to get help in coding out patient diagnostic testing. and I am confused about the admitting dx and first listed dx here is a example if a patient comes in for chest pain and they do a stress test and the impression is cardiomegly with mirtal regurgitation what is my first listed dx ? I would code what the impression is but people are telling me to code the chest pain please help ????

You may code what you know at the time of coding or after study but not both. An exception to this would be skin lesion excisions where you must wait for the path report . Also if the symptom is not explained with the diagnosis then code both, in other words if the diagnosis is an incidental finding and the provider is still looking for the cause of the symptoms then you code both. Also outpatient does not have an admitting dx code, you have a principle dx. So on the claim the admitting and principle are the same.

debra thank you for responding I am still confused. cause the screen we use has four things dx from admitting then admitting dx then principal then secondary. so we have to enter a admitting dx and principle and if a secondary code. hope this explains better
I better understand with examples so let me see if if I can give you a few and you let me know if I am on the right track. 1. ok pt comes in to hospital and on the script from ordering doc is echocardiogram dx is chest pain. the test is done and nothing is abnormal in results then I would code the symptom chest pain correct ?
2. pt comes in for same scenario but the echo shows cardiomegly and regurtitation I would still code the chest pain as principle?