Wiki Opinion on Exam Level

ckelder

Contributor
Best answers
I was just wanting to get some other coder's opinions on this exam, as to what level they would choose.

CC: Follow up of psych issues.

Exam:

General: well developed, well nourished, in NAD
Head: normocephalic and atraumatic
Lungs: clear bilaterally to auscultation
Neurologic: speech clear/appropriate, alert and oriented to person/place and time
Psych: Alert, calm but perserverating over mafie and events that she states happened to her mother in the 1940's

I came up with this being expanded focused exam but since I am new to coding I would like to get some other opinions.
Thanks in advance.

Agree with EPF

While you have 5 areas/systems (if you include constitutional), none of them are examined in detail with this documentation, so I would use EPF (using 1995 guidelines, as that is what our practices use).

However, with 1997 guidelines, they are not so helpful with the head documentation, nor does any of the documenation for neurological apply to that system - those are psychiatric findings. WIth only 4 bullets that I counted this would be PF.

When comparing the two sets, use the one that is more beneficial to the physician. So even if I throw out neurological in my 1995 analysis and place that under psych, I stll get EPF for 1995 so that is what I would use.

Interesting case - would like to hear others.

Last edited:
EPF VS. Detailed