Wiki Ophthalmology Doubt

Ravikirann

Networker
Best answers
Hi All,

I am new to Ophthalmology coding. Please help me out to choose CPT codes.

The patient is a 75-year-old male, who has noted progressive decreased vision in his left eye. After evaluation, he was found to have a white cortical type cataract as the partial cause of his 20/40 vision. After a complete discussion of the risks and benefits of the procedure was undertaken with the patient, he elected to have his cataract removed. He understands that his final vision will be limited by his other ocular conditions. He understands the complex nature of his surgery given his type. Intraocular dye will be used to better visualize it.

DESCRIPTION OF PROCEDURE: Topical anesthesia with 0.5% proparacaine was given in the preoperative area. This consisted of a 50:50 mixture of 2% lidocaine and 0.5% bupivacaine. A drop of Betadine was placed on the patient?s operative eye before he was brought to the operating suite. The patient?s operative eye was then prepped and draped in the usual sterile fashion for cataract surgery, including drops of Betadine on its surface.