Wiki Office Visit and Procedures - Full body exam

Best answers
Our patients generally get a full body exam every six months to every year. What I'm trying to determine by posting this is if my physicians aren't documenting enough. Obviously I'm not a doctor and all I know in regards to dermatology documentation is what they do...not what other doctors do.

A patient comes in with a lesion, it gets biopsied. If that is all that is done, then there is nothing more I can code. No office visit will be billed out.

If a patient comes in with a lesion, and asks for a full body exam though...if we document that they asked for a full exam would that constitute an OV? What if we documented that they had a history of serious sunburns?

Obviously history of skin cancer works if they have a history, but if they don't I'm not for sure where to go from there. Perhaps there isn't anything further they can document...but it doesn't hurt to ask what other doctors are doing and what you, as coders, are seeing. I feel like our doctors are missing something but I'm not for sure what.

If there is true medical necessity for doing the full skin exam (such as history of skin cancer), then theoretically you can bill an office visit. The problem you will run into is that some payers are very stingy about paying for it. We have found (particularly lately) that Humana and Florida Medicare will refuse to pay the office visit unless the provider happened to find some other new problem on the exam.

If there is no medical necessity, just a patient request, then this is a preventive service and the patient has to pay out-of-pocket for it (or you can provide it as a courtesy, since you're getting paid for the biopsy, which is what we do).

There have been some discussions in this forum about some carriers paying for FBE as a covered preventive service, but I do not know of any who will.

Assuming an established patient....