Wiki Nutritional Counseling

cmicho

New
Best answers
I am new to billing Nutritional Counseling. We have a registered dietician providing the service. Our patient's are referred to her by our endocrinology clinic as well as family practice clinic. I am confident we are billing the correct CPT's (97802 and 97803) we are not doing group at this point. My issue is that some of the insurance carriers are denying because the dietician is not credentialed. When we call we are told the carrier does not credential dieticians. So how are we to bill and get paid for this service when the patient has the benefit? I am at a loss. Is it appropriate to bill as incident to? we are getting an order from the physician just not sure what we are doing wrong. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Cmicho:)🏋️‍♂️🥕
Here are my thoughts...the referring MD can be listed on the OP claim but first documented on patient's medical record referred to dietician due to Obesity or DM or HTN or CHF Etc health problem. You can bill CPT 92111 since the dietician is QMHP staff or once see pt face to face can do phone calls with CPT 98966 ensure add minutes in documentation and permission to call pt as follow up visits on this medical record. Pt see MD first, then next half hour go see the dietician on same date. Use modifier 25 per payer guidelines; 2 separate claims transmitted or combo claim. Check with payer see if valid to do this type of care.