Wiki No show new patient appointment

nics1011

Best answers
I'm curious how other offices are handing these situations....

Are physicians allowed to charge new patients, who have not yet filled out the financial policy, for a missed appointment?

Thanks in advance for your input !

I'm not a lawyer but if your patient hasn't yet to be informed of and agree to the missed appointment fee you cannot charge it. Verbal would also be harder to prove than in writing. You just refuse to reschedule them if they call. You can't enforce a contract that doesn't exist

Last edited:
That's exactly what I was thinking. It was brought up that if the patient fills out all of the forms prior to the visit with the no show policy included that that would cover us, but I just wasn't so sure about that.

Thank you for your input.

I know of many practices that charge a "no show" fee as long as the patient is aware of the policy. However, actually collecting the money is a whole different ball game

I agree with previous responses. Another issue we have with new patient appointments is that, as a specialty clinic, a lot of our patients are referred by PCP, many of which schedule the appointment with us for the patient. We've had quite a few patients complain that they were not informed of the appt. Just another aspect to consider.

I know of many practices that charge a "no show" fee as long as the patient is aware of the policy. However, actually collecting the money is a whole different ball game