Wiki Newly Credentialed CPC-A

esmer77

Best answers
Hello anyone, everyone!!
My name is Linda Angeles, I passed my CPC certification exam back in April of this year. I am currently enrolled in AAPCs CPB certification course. At this moment I am not employed and have yet to begin my job search, I have read about have difficult it can be for beginners (rookies) to find employment in the medical coding field, this one reason why I decided to go forward with my education and hopefully secure my next credential as a CPB. I do have to admit as a beginner I often have moments when I think, "What if I get a job and I forget everything I have learned". I also have moments when I feel I do not know anything or I do not know enough to secure employment. I know I can only learn so much and that all the courses can only teach me so much, I need to go out and gain work experience, I need to put my knowledge to the test.

I am wondering if there are any seasoned coders and/or billers who can offer some words of wisdom or encouragement. I would greatly appreciate any tips or mentoring. Am I silly to think such things or is this a normal thing that every beginner faces when going into a new career?

Thank you for letting me vent even if no one reads this, sometimes it helps just to put it out there.

You are not alone! :)

I'm not sure I qualify as a "seasoned coder" ... while I'm relatively new to coding, I've been around the block and changed careers a few times.

A search of the forums will turn up many such threads. Unfortunately, many are discouraged because they paid big bucks for a program on the promise they could have their pick of jobs or even work from home with no experience. There are no short cuts in life. Sure, passing the CPC exam is awesome and puts you ahead of applicants without credentials ... but you're still behind experienced coders. (This is not unique to coders either, it's true of many vocational programs.)