Wiki New to this career choice

ekrause101

Best answers
Hello, I am new to this career choice. I have taken all the classes needed to become a medical biller and coder.( or so I think!) But I am at a dead end right now. I am looking for a mentor and have emailed the AAPC Officers about this but have not gotten a response back. So if anyone can help me that would be great. I am starting a new career in this field and am wanting to know everything I need to know to get a job and to get certified and anything else you can think of that I need to know or do.
I have not taken the CPC exam because of finances right now. Plus do I need to take an ICD 10 class?
Again I am at a dead end and do not know what I need to do to further my chances of getting hired as a Biller & Coder.
This is all new to me, so any advice would be helpful! Thanks!

You may want to call AAPC because they sometimes have scholarships for taking exams depends on your income. Being certified will also help you find work.

This is the same advice I give all new grads:

My best advice is to look for non coding HIM jobs, something in registration, account rep, claim follow up, charge entry, etc. Something to get your foot in the door, gain experience (daily use of ICD 9 and CPT) and then move up to a coding job. That is how most of us started out.

Cordelia, DRG Auditor, CCS, CPC

michgar1253

I have tried calling and emailing the AAPC but have gotten no where. They do not answer my emails. I tried also to get a mentor from the website and received and email back from the person posted as the person in charge of it, who was no longer in charge of it, and no longer an officer of the AAPC. So no help there! Just frustrated with the AAPC right now. I received maybe one or two calls back but no real information on who they were and how they can help me!:(

Sorry DDean, I feel your pain. I am trying to get into a company but need the experience. Ugh! Oh well wish you luck!