Wiki New to path. ? about productivity.

bbooks

Best answers
Greetings. I am new to coding and in my first coding job. I was hired by a pathology lab. I am also their first experience with a certified coder. I'm wondering what sort of productivity level I should have for them. Could anyone give me some idea of what a typical sort of productivity would be? I work 4 hours a day, 5 days a week. I am coding strictly surgical pathology reports - no clinical laboratory. About how many lab reports should I be able to code in 4 hours? Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Pathology Productivity Revisited!

Hi all, I just happened upon this old post and I'd like to revisit it! Since it's the start of a new year, I was looking at numbers from 2015. Anyone care to share ? Let's talk cases per day or per hour and add some info about other duties, i.e. data entry/filing/follow up for insurance & medical necessity, etc.

Thanks -- this could be interesting!
Megan

Hi Megan. I am the one who originally posed this question. When I made my original post, I was working on-site in a pathology lab. My productivity varied quite a bit depending on the types of cases I was coding and the other draws to my time. Coding at this job was done on paper. I would say that after several years on the job I was coding 30-40 cases per hour when I had uninterrupted time. Sometimes more if the cases were not complicated (derm, Pap). In that job I also fielded phone calls from our billing department, sorted paperwork and other clerical jobs, worked on denials, trained new coders, and prepared for ICD-10.