Wiki New to anesthesia coding - have many questions!

sfaltinson

Contributor
Best answers
:confused:Hi, all

I'm brand new to anesthesia coding and need some answers quick! For starters, my questions include the following:

For MAC:

1) Can time be rounded? Example: Total sedation time is 64 min. Are the time units 4 or 5?

2) When exactly are the start and stop times? In the MHCP (Minnesota Hlth Care Programs) anesthesia services policy, start time is listed as "preparation of the recipient for induction" and stop is when the provider is "no longer in personal attendance". What is included in "induction"? Is that where the RN starts the IV line?

3) What is Phase I and Phase II recovery? Is this included in the MD time?

For conscious/moderate sedation:

1) Can time be rounded? Example: Total time for 5+ year old pt = 50 min. Are the correct codes 99143 x 1 and 99145 x 1, accounting for 45 min. Are the extra 5 minutes captured with another unit of 99145?

2) When are the start/stop times?

Diagnoses:

1) I gather that the primary diagnosis is the reason for the procedure itself (example: AML for LP w/chemo). My docs are including pain (780.96) and anxiety (300.00) as additional dx. Some even list these as primary dx. Thoughts on this?

Thanks in advance to those who answer. Please include your sources along with your answers.

Sara
Minneapolis, MN