Wiki New Coders...

EmilyM

New
Best answers
Just looking for others that are relatively new coders as well.
I started my new job as a medical coder in June. I passed my CPC exam in July.
I'm still learning, but definitely feeling a little more confident. Excited for the moment I feel confident about most of it. I'm sure it will take a few years for that though!

Anyone else out there a new coder, learning not only ICD-10, but Coding as a whole?

Emily M.
CPC-A

I have background dealing with codes and I picked up some things along the way about proper coding but never had any training. So still in training on all of it. Although I wont be seeking a coding job so it will probably be a while before I do real coding. I will sign up for Practicode so I can practice coding real charts in case the day comes I will l need to do production coding.

I really did it so I can take over for a coworker when she retires. It was supposed to be 2-3 years down the road but I was encouraged not to wait and get this all done before I10 is on the proctored test. Now I'm in a rush because the coworker is sick and has been out of work and will likely not be returning. I'm doing half her job now but the other half needs someone certified so I'm trying to get ready to move right in when she leaves.

I mainly deal with the reimbursement side, fee schedules, pricing data for all types of claims and making sure all our systems code groups are up to date.