Wiki New coder looking for guidance

mabauer1

Best answers
Hello,

I graduated just this past July with my Associate's degree in medical billing and coding. I am going to be starting a position coding emergency department records and there are a few areas I feel my classes did not prepare me for adequately. I will be coding for the facility. My confusion lies in the use of E/M codes. For example, in the following case what, if any E/M codes would be required:

Physician notes:
Right index finger and Dorsum of middle phalanx - sensory/motor intact. Nail intact. All joints numbed w/ 1% lidocaine and the wound thoroughly scrubbed & irrigated. Wound edges sharp. No debridement necessary. Sutured w/ 2 interrupted sutures of 4-O nylon. D/C home. Recheck in 8-10. Keep clean & dry. Return if any evidence of infection or problem. Tylenol prn pain.

I am thinking there should be a facility E/M code. A procedure code for the suturing, but I am not sure if there is an E/M code required for the physician as well (assuming the physician is employed by the hospital).

Can anyone offer any guidance?

It depends on the place of service. If they were seen in the ER, use the 9928X codes plus any procedure codes. Do you have a CPT book you could look at? I would read the E/m guidelines in the front of the book.

I do have a CPT book. This was one of my practice cases from school. I coded it using a 9928x code and the procedure code and my instructor said I didn't need the E/M code because a procedure was done. That is what is confusing me. I guess what I am asking is do you always use an E/M code when a patient is seen in the E.R. despite whether or not there is a procedure or procedures performed?

E/R Coding

There will always be an E/M code with patients seen in the E/R - no matter what procedures are done.. Just make sure appropriate modifiers are used if necessary...