Wiki Nerve Blocks - I'm new to pain managment

AR2728

Expert
Best answers
I'm new to pain managment and my physician supplies the CPT codes--but I don't think they are correct. Will someone please assist me with the following procedures and what CPT codes should be billed?

25 GHypodermic needle used
20 mg depo medrol for each auriculotemporal nerve
.25% Bupivacaine-4 cc for each auriculotemporal nerve block, 2cc for each supraorbital nerve block

Supraorbital nerve block: All pressure points padded and the forehead was prepped and draped...hypodermic needle was advanced until reaching the peristeum, followed by injection in a fan like distribution to cover RIGHT supraorbital and supratrochlear nerve. Repeated aspirations throughtout the injection were negative for air, CSF and blood with incremental attempts. Mediation as mentioned above then injected covering the nerves. The same procedure was repeated on the LEFT side.

Auriculotemporal Nerve Block: ...prepped and draped... Temporal artery was marked and the hypodermic needle was advanced posterior to the temporal artery until reaching the peristeum. Needle withdrawn until the patient got paresthesia. Med injected as mentioned above in a fan like distribution to cover the RIGHT auriculotemporal nerve. Repeated aspirations negative.... Same procedure done on the LEFT side.

Physician stated to bill 64400 and 62280-50-------I think this is incorrect especially the 62280. I was looking at codes 64400-64405. I am so lost and would really appreciate any advice. One more question---Would I bill separately for the Bupivicaine?