Wiki Need some experienced advice for nerve conduction studies

ollielooya

True Blue
Best answers
Not sure why I'm posting on the forum on a Friday night, but perchance there may be someone who can help. First of all I'm new to this type of coding and billing and my concerns regard the proper use of modifiers for the 95903, 95904 when billed with 95861 and 95886. WHAT specificially in the medical record determines when modifier 59 MAY be appropriate to add to 95903 and 95904? What should I be looking for? MCR only paid on the 95861. Here's excerpt from the report:

Nerve Conduction Study and Electromyography/Bilateral Lower extremity Nerve Conduction Study and EMG report.Indication: pain, numbness tingling in his lower extremities. Noted no hx of diabetes or other pertinent hx.

NCS: A Caldwell Sierrawave machine was used to study bilateral tibial, peroneal, and sural nerves, F wave studies. Data and waveforms attached.

Right Lower Extremity: Tibial motor study today-normal distal latency, normal NCV, decreased amplitude thruout. No response F wave study. Pewroneal motor study-normal distal latency, normal ncv, decreased amplitude at popliteal fossa and fibula stimulation points. No response F wave study Peroneal sensory study-prolonged sital latency. Sural sensory study - no response

Left Lower Extremity
Tibla motor study-normal distal latency, normal NCV, decreased amplitude at knee stimulation point. No response F wave study. Peroneal motor study-normal distal latency, decreased amplitude at all stimulation points, normal NCV, No response F wave study. Peroneal sensory study-no response. Sural sensory study-no response

EMG
A disposable, monopolar EMG needle was used to examine select muscles in the right and left lower extremities. In creased spontaneous activity left tibialis anterior muscle. Rest of his L and R leg needle exam is normal.

Impression: -------------

Thanks to any and all who respond and if none do over the weekend may resubmit.

Hi Suzzane,