Wiki Need some advice on coding from home with young children.

Best answers
I recently started coding from home with a company and I love it! My daughter is in daycare 2 days a week and I am expecting another baby at the end of the year. We are going to take my daughter out of daycare once the baby is born since daycare is so expensive and both children will be at home with me. Anyone have any advice on coding from home with little ones?

Hahaha

I recently started coding from home with a company and I love it! My daughter is in daycare 2 days a week and I am expecting another baby at the end of the year. We are going to take my daughter out of daycare once the baby is born since daycare is so expensive and both children will be at home with me. Anyone have any advice on coding from home with little ones?

I don't work at home full time, but I do spend a lot of time trying to work from home, with a 2-yo and a 1-yo (Call me a workaholic, I guess...) Here's what I'd recommend:

1. In house Babysitter (someone to keep them amused and make sure they don't choke on anything, or otherwise injure themselves while you work...I call mine "husband" :p)
2. A desk w/computer that they can't get to - baby gates are awesome - as soon as they figure out that pushing buttons on the keyboard makes stuff happen on the screen, it gets really hard to keep them from messing with a computer.
3. Earplugs to focus during those colicky spells
4. Probably the most important: Get your kids accustomed to a well-structured schedule each day, particularly when it comes to meal time and nap time - eventually, their little bodies should adjust to it, and it should become a relatively smooth process. Nap time is easy for little babies, but if you have a hectic schedule as they get older, it can be hard to get them to go down for a nap at the same time, for the same amount of time, consistently. You'll get 1000x more work done during nap time, than during any other time.