Wiki Nasal endoscopy with bronchoscopy - My 4 year-old had to have a

Best answers
My 4 year-old had to have a laryngoscopy/bronchoscopy the day before I took the CPC exam. When I received the bill they had coded 31231 and 31622 for the procedure, which I found strange. Since the nasal endoscopy is an integral part of the bronchoscopy procedure I didn't think it is separately coded. There was not a separate sinus exploration, and the billing department lady told me that the sinus endoscopy code was there because that's how they got in. Even after that explanation it doesn't sit well with me, and since I'm still learning I figured it would be a good idea to ask the pros. Thanks!:D

It's okay per NCCI

According to the CCI, 31231 can be billed with 31622 if a modifier is used. (effective 7/1/2003)

Hope this helps,

CCi edits call the 31231 a component of the 31622 because you are correct you cannot bill the approach when a more definitive procedure is performed via that approach. Just because you are allowed to modify the pair does not mean you CAN modify given the documentation. To unbundle this there must be something to support it such as a separate session an intervention in between the two procedures to show why they are two distinct parts not just one procedure consisting of an approach and a procedure.
If what you say is true I would definitely fight this and request a copy of the procedure note to show two distinct procedures being done

Thanks!

Thank you! I will give them a call and ask for the notes. I am not concerned with the bill as much as what I can learn from this. Your input is very much appreciated.

Venetzia Madison

Nasal endoscopy vs Laryn/Broncoscopy endoscopy

"For endoscopy procedure, code approprite endoscopy, of each anatomical site examined."CPT 2011, pg. 112.