Wiki My First Coding Job...MAYBE

Jfraska

Contributor
Best answers
Hey everyone,

So I have been working at a local hospital for 6 months now in registration. I got my CPC-A in Feb and have been applying for coding jobs or anything in the direction of coding and a step up from registration. I was able to get in touch with a coder at the hospital and she asked me some questions and told me she would give my resume to her boss. They have an outpatient coding position available which she said was basically entry level. (Now I work in the hospital but I actually work for a different company than the hospital or the hospitals mother company.) So, I then met with the HIM associate director and she gave me a little 10 question test and I think I did OK. Not sure if there is a passing score or not but it may be just a simple assessment. I never had a real interview since I work full time and they kind of just skated me along discretely. I am supposed to hear back this week!! They had a few more candidates interviewing this week so we'll see.

I am nervous because this a big opportunity for me. I have no idea of my chances. I am a recent grad of a coding school and just passed the test with an 80 but have no work exp besides being in the hospital in registration. I don't really know if I am considered an internal applicant but it seems they gave me a little leeway based on me being employed there. I was enthusiastic and explained why I chose coding and I send the director a thank you note after I met with her. :D;)

Any advice on actions now? Just wait it out? She asked starting salary and I said 20/hr, my research showed that this is average for starting in coding especially here in the Boston area.