Wiki Multiple complaints on same visit

april j

Best answers
An established patient wants an office visit to evaluate bilateral hand pain and bilateral knee pain. The biller insists that the office can see the patient for only one issue per day or the office will not get paid. Is this correct? I thought that the services would be diagnosis-related and separately payable for x rays, etc.

That is simply incorrect
Thank you. I have billed this type of multiple complaint visit for other specialties without a problem. I've been doing this for 30+ years, but newly certified and not as confident as I ought to be regarding orthopedic billing.

Your years of experience speaks for itself. What was the biller recommending? For the patient to make a separate appointment for the other complaint?

a separate appointment for the other complaint?

Yes, and of course, my first instinct is that it's a ploy to have the patient come back multiple times. I am going to speak to the billing manager on behalf of the patient, who happens to be 93 years old and not inclined to making additional unnecessary trips to the doctor.

Just to play devils advocate for a minute.

The doctor can only do 1 office visit per day, doesn't matter how many issues are discussed.

I say this only because I responded to a post the other day where the provider was charging a consult and a preventive for the same visit. Which obviously would be incorrect.

Laura, CPC, CPMA, CEMC

also how is the physician to get a complete picture if he does not address all the complaints at the same encounter. In this example have bilateral hand and knee pain might not be just as simple as arthritis but could be a neurological issue. To state to the physician that he can address only one complaint per encounter is just wrong and I can not imagine the physician going along with it.